Thread: EJ22 code 13 and 31, really weird

Default EJ22 code 13 and 31, really weird

Well I started to think this was some"geographical" gremlin, every time I went up this hill near my mum's, the car would start to cut down, break down, lose power and timing, then this issue became more frequent on more hills, it was weird though when I could go the back way, that still had a serious hill, but no issue, go figure! Well it did have a bit of a dip, so always had more momentum.

Anyway, the only codes were 13 and 31, the 13 seemed obvious, so I got some new sensors, the TPS and a cam angle sensor, for those who don't know, 13 is cam sensor 31 is the throttle position sensor.

But the bastard is doing it again, same hill, same spot. This time it got so bad had to stop.

Now, while I assume there is some issue with this loom, is it possible that the cam itself may be providing poor signal? Also, I have no knowledge of when this car had it's timing belt done, it's at 240I, could an aging belt and a shot tensioner be causing the timing to go out slightly? (due to load on hills?) I mean I can't understand how this only occurs on hills.

Any one can help, much appreciated guys.

Sean.
    Favourite quote:
    Kezza: handling mods > power mods

My Photobucket Subaru Album

Moderator BIG POSTER

Had a similar issue with dads EJ22, no solution. I had a code 13 but it didn't return after I cleared it and no idea how long ago the ecu was last reset. I found evidence of arc'ing on the coilpack so replacing that is my next step.
    Quote Originally Posted by dja
    im not a doctor
    Mr. Miyagi didn't teach the Karate Kid to believe in himself. He taught him how to kick people in the fucking head.

So yods,, how did you reset? Do I jyst disconnect battery and turn the key?

You changed cam sensor too to no avail?

Sean
    Favourite quote:

Have you checked the ignition module and ignition area?

Is it automatic?
    Cheers
    AP